Skip to content

Sitting on the Wall

August 4, 2016

I know I have a few followers on here who watch my Blog because of its KILKEE content, so I thought I would announce on here, as well as elsewhere on social media, that today sees the publication of my memoir of Kilkee holidays in the 60s – “Sitting on the Wall”.

product_thumbnail
If you are from Kilkee, or have happy memories of the place, I hope this book will do justice to the joyous times we all had there.

Today is the 50th anniversary, to the day, of the first time I set eyes on Kilkee, so it seems like a good time to launch the book, which is very much a personal memoir, detailing how I fell in love with the town and talking about some of the many characters I met there.

I wanted to write it partly to acknowledge folk in Kilkee where I’ve had so many happy times, but also because, having searched the net, it seemed there was little written about what it was like to have a seaside holiday in the west coast of Ireland in the mid twentieth century – and the only mention of those times in Kilkee I could find where in Homan Potterton’s memoir “Rathcormick” which refers to Kilkee holidays in the fifties.

It seemed to me if I wrote this book then future social historians would at least have one eye witness account of what those days were like. So, if “Sitting on the Wall” ends up as a researchers’ resource in the Clare County Library, I will be perfectly happy.

It felt like a responsibility to write the memoir as I wanted to do justice to the town and its people – I hope I have done.

Maybe – when clouds are grey and the rain hits the windows in far off places, people who love Kilkee will be able to read a few pages of this – and remember better days!

final Photo on 2016-08-01 at 13.29 #4

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2016 1:23 pm

    Excellent – look forward to getting my hands on a copy. We are well overdue a return visit there before the ‘summer’ is over!

Leave a Reply

